Harry Potter… whats a Christian Parent to Do ?

Harry Potter, Jesus, and Me ….A story about a boy wizard.

by Andrew Peterson | re-posted from Christianity Today.
7/15/2011  – RoadTrip Parenting Note: This essay from Christian musician Andrew Peterson and is abridged from a blog post at The Rabbit Room.

I’m a fan of the Harry Potter books. There. I said it. Whenever I visit a bookstore I can’t resist a walk through the Young Readers section, where my heart flutters at cover illustrations of dragons and detectives and ghosts and kids dashing across fantastic landscapes. I’ve always loved those stories, and many times I take the books from the shelves and, with chills running up and down my arms, thumb through them. Sometimes I even smell them. (There. I said
that, too.)

Years ago, on one of my trips through the kids’ section I noticed a book called Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.
It looked cool, and the jacket indicated that it had won a few awards. A year or so later I saw the second book, this one on display. By the time I spotted Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban on the shelves the buzz was loud enough that I decided to buy the first book. I read it, and although it had some great moments, I wasn’t hooked. But at the time I was
writing On the Edge of the Dark Sea of Darkness and was learning so much so quickly about writing, I already knew North!Or Be Eaten would be a better book. I desperately hoped my readers would stick with me through my first faltering attempt at fiction because I had a much bigger story to tell.

So I decided to give this “J.K. Rowling” person the benefit of the doubt, as I hoped my readers would do for me. I read Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets and liked it better than the first book. I began to get glimpses of the scope of this story, sensed a gigantic framework beneath its surface, and bought Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban as soon as it released. That was the book that did it. Rowling was no longer messing around. She convinced me with that book that she could tell a story, that Harry, Ron, and Hermione were characters I cared about, and I realized that she had created a world I adored.

I’m as enchanted by Hogwarts as Rivendell. At the end of each book, when Harry found himself stuck again at the Dursleys, I grieved with him, because his time there was like my time waiting for the next story, waiting for
Hagrid to show up and sweep me away into a magical world again. Opening the first page of a new Harry Potter book was like boarding the Hogwarts Express. I’m being totally serious. Well, after reading book three, I was one of the
first in line to buy each new one.

Then one day about ten years ago, when I was on tour with a singer/songwriter named Fernando Ortega, I spent a few hours at a Barnes & Noble in Oregon (I think) and a guy in a bowtie was giving an author talk to a smattering of people. I slipped into the back row and listened as he lauded the virtues of the Harry Potter books, and even—gasp!—went so far as to argue that they were distinctly Christian in theme. I was fascinated, especially in light of the rumblings and grumblings I’d heard about the books from Christians. It helped me to understand why my spirit seemed to tingle when I
read the books.

That day I met JohnGranger, bought his book The Hidden Key to Harry Potter, and was even more hooked than I was before. He pointed out so many interesting themes, archetypes, alchemical nuances, and even direct quotes from Rowling herself about the Christian content in the books that I became more frustrated and mystified than ever by the outcry from Christians against the books. As weird as it sounds, I felt bad for Rowling. She was working hard, telling a great story, lighting up my imagination like few authors ever have (I’ll let you guess which), and she was being demonized by the church I love-the church of which she was supposedly a part. I kept wishing there was a way I could send her a message that said something like this:

Dear Ms. Rowling,

I think it’s remarkable what
you’ve done. I love your imagination. I love your characterization and your
sense of humor. I love that you’re telling a story about choosing the right
thing, even when it’s hard. I love that you’re telling a story that is full of
wisdom, a story that reminds me how evil Evil is. Most of all, I love that your
story reminds me that light is stronger than darkness, that the best way to love
is to lay your life down, and that Death will not have the final say. By the
way, I’m a follower of Christ, and I see him in your story. I don’t know if
that’s intentional or not, but you should know that he’s in there. In fact, it
wouldn’t be a huge stretch to say that reading your books has helped me to
praise him even more for his courage, his sacrifice, and his strength to conquer
the hosts of hell to save us.


I don’t think the Harry Potter books are perfect. I don’t think
they’re the greatest books ever written. Whether or not they stand the test of
time like The Chronicles of Narnia and The Lord of the Rings remains to be seen (though I suspect
they will). But I was swept into the story in a way that very few books
have ever done for me. When Ben Shive and I were touring in Sweden I actually
heard him crying in the next room as he finished Half-Blood
Prince. (Don’t tell him I told you that.) Some of you may have heard me
tell this story, but for the sake of those who haven’t: when I finished Deathly Hallows I was opening for Fernando again (this was years and years after the tour I mentioned earlier-creepy how this all revolves
around Fernando). I read the last, bittersweet pages of the book and was deeply moved. But it wasn’t until later that I broke. I finished my opening set that night and settled in to listen to Fernando. He was playing piano along with a string quartet, marching through a stirring arrangement of “Crown Him with Many
Crowns.” In the back of the dark, crowded room I sang,

Crown him the Lord of life,
who triumphed o’er the
and rose victorious in the strife
for those he came to save.
glories now we sing,
who died, and rose on high,
who died, eternal life to
and lives that death may die.

I couldn’t get Harry’s story out of my head. I doubled over in the back of the auditorium and sobbed with gratitude to Jesus for allowing his body to be ruined, for facing the enemy alone, for laying down his life for his friends-Jesus, my friend, brother, hero, and king-Jesus, the Lord of Life, who triumphed o’er the grave-who lives that death may die! Even now, writing those words, my heart catches in my throat. In that moment I was able, because of these books, to worship Christ in a way I never had.

Let me be clear: Harry Potter is NOT Jesus. This story isn’t inspired, at least not in the sense that Scripture is inspired; but because I believe that all truth is God’s truth, that the resurrection is at the heart of the Christian story, and the main character of the Christian story is Christ, because I believe in God the Father, almighty maker of heaven and earth and in Jesus Christ his only begotten Son—and because I believe that he inhabits my heart and has adopted me as his son, into his family, his kingdom, his church—I
have the freedom to rejoice in the Harry Potter story, because even there, Christ is King.

Wherever we see beauty, light, truth, goodness, we see Christ. Do we think him so small that he couldn’t invade a series of books about a boy wizard? Do we think him cut off from a story like this, as if he were afraid, or weak, or worried? Remember when Santa Claus shows up (incongruously) in The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe? It’s a strange moment, but to my great surprise I’ve been moved by it. Lewis reminds me that even Father Christmas is subject to Jesus, just as in Prince Caspian the hosts of mythology are subject to him.

The Harry Potter story is subject to him, too, and Jesus can use it however he wants. In my case, Jesus used it to help me long for heaven, to remind me of the invisible world, to keep my imagination active and young, and he used it to show me his holy bravery in his triumph over the grave.

Andrew Peterson is an award-winning Christian musician, author,
and proprietor of The Rabbit Room, a blog for Christian artists. A longer version of this essay appeared there recently.


Today’s – Harry Potter Blog is a repost of the ChristianityToday article noted in the opening paragraph with link. It does not necessarily represent the views, opinions or beliefs of RoadTrip Parenting. However, I believe like any media, book or movie…if a parent is involved in the process to help kids filter out the good from the bad and clarify fact from fiction… it can be a very good thing for a family. If you have not read the books, I would encourage you to do so. They are considered classics by most and may prove to be insightful reading for you to understand the world that your older kids will be living in with their peers. For younger kids, (under 12) I would avoid the Harry Potter world altogether.

Blessings… Brad.

One thought on “Harry Potter… whats a Christian Parent to Do ?

  1. Cheryl Hayman That’s a tough one.. our son got a hold of the book when it first came out on his own even though we didn’t want it in the house.. he was older.. not a small child, but if I had small children I wouldn’t allow it!
    20 hours ago · Like.

    Brad Mathias I have mixed emotions on it, largely on the age of the child. For little kids, i’m much more cautious. For teens – not so much. It has been a great dialogue starter for my teens at times, and when I finally read the books I was able to understand where the “danger” spots were. My point in the blog is to “USE” Media to your advantage as a parent, teach from it, train your older kids to develop a “filter” for media content – thanks for your thoughts !
    20 hours ago · Like.

    Michael Mathias I have seen and delt with the “craft” first hand and none of it should be takin lightly these type of books and movies have one purpose and its not entertainment, they can chip away at your faith…..
    19 hours ago · Like.

    Brad Mathias Mike, your warning is indeed relevant. Most readers of the Road Trip Parenting site are not Christian, or if they are… very secularized in their world views and behaviors. The hope is for those parents to become aware of the potential for harm and or to provide them with a “way” out of the danger by showing them a safe way to monitor their kids and understand the media they are consuming right under their noses. I rarely take strong positions on these types of issues, partly because my goal is larger than winning an argument or making a point, rather to engage the parents to be involved with their families. Thanks for your comments. much appreciated.
    19 hours ago · Like.

    Michael Mathias I must have been confused by the “Harry Potter…whats a Christian parent to do?” at the beginning of this post ????
    11 hours ago · Unlike · 1 person.

    Rick Greene This stuff hits too close to home as we have a family member that’s into witchcraft – they think they have it to use it for good. But white magic is not from the Lord. For me & my house I cannot allow it in our house – what if this family member came over and saw I watched and supported these books & films? We wouldn’t be able to explain our faith with those stacked on a shelf. And I leave you with this – if people have to “defend” why they should see these movies & read the books – then it’s already affected their heart.
    46 minutes ago · Like

Leave a Reply

