Reconnecting… parents and kids, husbands and wives… us and God.

I hate that awkward moment when I bump into someone over lunch or in the aisle at the local Kroger…someone I used to know pretty well. Usually its a former co-worker, a familar face from our old church small group,  an ex-neighbor… maybe a long ago schoolmate, or aging friend of a friend we used to hang out with before we had kids. Someone we  knew once more than casually…but somehow in the current of our life  we were slowly drawn apart until almost forgotten. Someone we now have less of a friendship with and more of a neutral  polite acquaintance status… a relationship that we all feel bound  to try to observe, but move quickly to avoid whenever possible.

All that awkward social stuff is common enough… to some degree or another we  all travel through our lives bouncing from one polite conversation to another. What can get uncomfortable is when this happens and you suddenly realize, that awkward uncomfortable odd, almost stranger social vibe is coming from one of your teen kids…or maybe it’s become your spouse?

The realization can hit a parent or family member like an electric current…Breathtakingly painful as it drills  into a newly awakened chamber of our almost empty and slowly numbing hearts. What happened to us ? We used to be so “tight”… so connected, where did things get off track?

It’s kinda of obvious on reflection…somewhere along the way, our life distracted us for a bit too long. We forgot to stay connected  and took their friendship, love and respect for granted. We made the “assumption” that things were “good”, simply because no one was chucking frying pans or lava lamps at us when we came home from work each night. So we plod along without so much as a hug or a peck on the check in greeting…. unaware that things might be drifting in the relationships we value the most… Not good.

Relationships take a regular dose of time, energy and focus. Not out of ritual or habit, but out of a genuine desire to share, listen and be heard. Passive parenting will kill a teen-relationship like a passive marriage will destroy a happy home. They are related, linked together. When we take the time to spend with our most important relationships, the rest of our lives will fall into balance, into the proper place.

Same is true of our relationship with God.

When we take the time to read in His word, pray in His presence and live in the shadow of His cross… we find life goes much differently than when we surge ahead without Him or lag way behind. God is calling to us to start and end our days with Him. If you make that personal shift, the rest of your life will sort itself out. Jesus describes this all in John 15 as “abiding”…

 4 Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in me. 5I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing…. 7If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. 8 By this my Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit and so prove to be my disciples. 9 As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you. Abide in my love… 11These things I have spoken to you, that my joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full.

Bold statements I know. But true nonetheless.

If your marriage, your teenager or your family are driving you nuts… take a few minutes and be honest. Do you need to actually pick up the Bible and read the word of God and ask for His help?  If you do, welcome to the human race. If you don’t think  it will matter, it may be that you’ve just gotten used to living life on your own and it’s time to soberly consider how that’s working out for you….?

Be careful, my own experience with living out things on my own terms were beyond painful.  If your pattern follows my own… relationships and life will continue to drift hopelessly away, you’ll find yourself disconnected from the ones you love the most. God wants to help… if you let Him, I believe He will redirect your path from where you are, to where you need to be to get reconnected.

I promise.

God is so intentional with us. He sends us such specific messages of hope, love and encouragement to His children. When we push through our pain and apathy and resentment long enough to re-connect with Him, we are choosing to abide.  You will be shocked at how amazing and simple it is to recover your peace,  perspective and hope on everything else. Our kids and our homes suddenly get a revised clarity and in the glare of His light we find that He will direct us forward. I’ve discovered that somehow… when we abide, it’s not long until we’ve found a specific way to recover and reconnect with our kids and our homes along the way.

Simple and Profound, Timeless and True, God’s word cannot fail.

Jesus is ready to help reverse the awkward into familiar. To heal, to renew and to reconnect you with your kids, with your family, with your spouse… All that’s holding you back is… well you.

Peace OUT.

b

2 thoughts on “Reconnecting… parents and kids, husbands and wives… us and God.

  1. Brad~ Well done. So needed. I am going through a time of feeling disconnected on many levels, trying to make time for all 3 of my teens, work, volunteering and my parents. Plus me! I have to refuel me to be able to have the personal energy to stay connected. Well, I ask God and He answered almost immediately through my kids. I now have a breakfast date with one of my sons at 6AM 3 days a week. I leave for work at 7. I have running/jogging dates with my daughter and my middle son is still in limbo, but I think that is going to be a driving session! One where I don’t actually yell at the top of my lungs as he takes the corner faster than I would like. Well, maybe it shouldn’t be a driving session!

    You are right, sometimes things have to fall or fall away before we wake up. Humans are creatures of habit and sometimes if things are making noise, we just keep going not checking the status of our connections. Thanks Brad and love the new page!! Blessings, Leslie

Leave a Reply

