Blessed above and beyond…

Thanksgiving week is upon us again. Hard to come up with a new and exciting way to highlight the holiday of gratitude. So I won’t try. Instead I’m just quietly reflecting on all that is, and has been, and I urge you to do the same.

How has my life changed in the past year? 

How much have I received and did I steward it well?

Have I truly been blessed by God or am I just scrambling to “think positive” thoughts?

The truth is… I’ve been blessed above and beyond anything I could ever have hoped for. So have you. The challenge is reorienting our perspective far enough to see it.

moyeamedia.com – wallpaper source

Work, relational struggles, finances, health and fatigue all take a huge toll of us…but don’t let them rob you of the beauty and peace that comes from reflecting on how good God really is. Bad things do happen to us, challenges, tragedies and set backs…but it’s also true that God never walks away from our side. We’re not alone, we’re not abandoned and we’re not going to be… ever.

Hebrews 13:5-6 (ESV)  5 Keep your life free from love of money, and be content with what you have, for he has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” 6 So we can confidently say, “The Lord is my helper;  I will not fear; what can man do to me?” (Source – Biblegateway.com)

As you make the drive to journey to the designated annual Thanksgiving feasting house… use that precious time to share with your children. Tell them of God’s goodness, share simply and earnestly of God’s blessings to your family this year. Ask them to consider what “they” are most thankful for and be ready to share it on turkey day.

Be aware that this simple act will take some significant effort on your part…the car will be overpacked, the kids will be noisy, your spouse and you will have a spat, the dishes probably won’t be done and your house will be most likely still be a mess…but regardless, push it all aside and determine to lead your kids back to contentment, to a spirit of Thanksgiving.

Cultivating a spirit of gratitude  is a beautiful family roadtrip tradition waiting to be created… all it needs is you to get the spark started.

The results could be simply amazing.

Peace out RTP, with love and a grateful heart…

Pastor Brad.

Leave a Reply

