Solutions to new years resolutions…

Gotta loose 20 pounds. No more ordering French fries, No more Diet Cokes, No cigars – No cigarettes, No sugar, No nachos, No shopping, No new cars, No new credit cards, No more non-essential commitments. These are ALL past New Years resolutions I’ve made and some I’ve kept.

What about you?

So many things to improve on this year, so many habits to change and behaviors to modify… so many in fact that it can seem overwhelming to just pick “ONE”. I’m tired of that old guilt game… it’s probably more important to take this natural – “first of the year” moment of personal introspection to a different level.

How about my spiritual development, my personal growth as a man or woman of faith?

Do I consider what needs to shift or change in that part of my life? Not immediately, in fact not really until I’m faced with a trial or serious situation beyond my ability to reason out. Then I need God and then I react by starting to “bargain” with Him for some favor in the circumstance. Wouldn’t it better to have His help along the way, to walk with Him and not find myself in a panic every few weeks, rushing around to find my bible and beg Him to make a miraculous appearance…when my life gets out of control ?

This year I’m going to focus on my Faith resolutions, and trust that when my personal spiritual growth occurs…the solution to my other resolutions will suddenly be revealed.

So… 2013 is here and these are my new resolutions;

1- To spend more time with my wife in prayer.

2- To begin and end my day with scripture

3- To focus on “Love” and not “Fear” in my family and life choices.

That’s it. My big 3. If by December, I’ve successfully improved on all three of these…I’m almost sure that the other resolutions will all be past history for me. Something tells me that if I’m all about being centered in the word of God and intentional to stay in unity with my wife, then most of my own personal stuff will soon follow.

rawrebecca.wordpress.com

rawrebecca.wordpress.com

The bible says it this way… I Timothy 4:6-10 (Message – from Biblegateway.com)

6-10 You’ve been raised on the Message of the faith and have followed sound teaching. Now pass on this counsel to the followers of Jesus there, and you’ll be a good servant of Jesus. Stay clear of silly stories that get dressed up as religion. Exercise daily in God—no spiritual flabbiness, please! Workouts in the gymnasium are useful, but a disciplined life in God is far more so, making you fit both today and forever. You can count on this. Take it to heart. This is why we’ve thrown ourselves into this venture so totally. We’re banking on the living God, Savior of all men and women, especially believers.

So, before you buy “another” gym membership or $200.00 exercise outfit… maybe consider investing in a one – year bible or subscribing to a online aid like “The Daily Audio Bible” for free!  This would be something your whole family might appreciate in the long run… and provide us all with some peaceful and profound changes in our lives in the weeks and months ahead.

Happy New Year RTP!

Pastor Brad.

Leave a Reply

