Sad Days Happen

Do you find yourself bumping along your days, caught up in a parade of semi-tragic life circumstances, followed by a regular series of dull and disappointing developments at your work and in your personal life ?

Do you wake up each morning feeling that your about to start a slow-motion repeat of the lonely and lifeless schedule that ran you into the ground yesterday? The one that keeps filling up with dozens of domestic obligations that seem to have no real purpose? 

Are you realizing that deep beneath your half smiles and faded pleasantness….inside of you is a sense of profound and deep sadness,  dangerously close to the surface –  repeatedly being hidden/pushed  underneath. Realizing that honestly…we’re only trying to protect us, to help maintain some status quo for our weary soul?

caringvoice.org

caringvoice.org

Do you feel trapped’ by commitments made long ago and mis-understood, of a faint desperate echo in your heart that never seems to get answered… a fading question….God, where are YOU ?

I have.

What do you do with those days… those weeks… those periods of life when all is sadness and sorrow and silent suffering?

I go find my friend King David and his painfully familiar poems and songs, written over 3000 years ago, I read – and re-read his words over and over letting their truths soak deep. PSALM 40 (ESV – Biblegateway)

I waited patiently for the Lord;
he inclined to me and heard my cry.
He drew me up from the pit of destruction,
out of the miry bog,
and set my feet upon a rock,
making my steps secure.
He put a new song in my mouth,
a song of praise to our God.
Many will see and fear,
and put their trust in the Lord.

And suddenly the darkness fades and a little ray of hope, of encouragement grows in my weary heart and God’s word revives me – restores me for one more day. One more push forward in faith, trusting that somewhere in my life, God does hear, God does answer and that He will never fail me.

Peace out my friends,

Pastor B.

Leave a Reply

