The Unresolved Dilemma’s of Life…

For me, Faith is a lot like our culture… I perceive it to be an immediate thing.

I have a problem.

I pray.

God answers.

Problem solved.

Sometimes when I pray, God’s response is to say “No” and I hem and haw and shuffle my feet… grumbling a bit as I slowly start to obey. Other times it’s a resounding ‘Yes” and I nod my head in agreement, confidently striding through the next open door of life. But sometimes… the answer is “silence’.

adrianashton.co.uk

adrianashton.co.uk

What do we do when God doesn’t seem to respond to our urgent requests for an answer ? 

Do I quit asking and move on to wise counsel and best selling Christian books for direction? Maybe flip a coin 🙂 and hope for the best ?

Here’s a third option to consider. When God is seemingly removed and unconcerned with our immediate need for resolution, we may want to simply ‘wait’ for His still small voice.

Remember the prophet Elijah? His moment with doubt and struggle, hidden in the wilderness while all of Israel was out to kill him, a price on his head from the evil king. In that moment of severe isolation and distress, God shows up for Elijah and reminds him of the faithfulness of God to provide, protect and even ‘direct’ His servants lives.

I’ve found that ‘my’ preference for immediate faith isn’t always the way my heavenly Father works. In fact, it seems that God allows for difficult circumstances and challenges to exist in my life as a way to keep me close to Him. A chance for me to stretch my faith a bit further than ever before and time for me to really learn to find God in the ‘unresolvedness’ of my life. (my word)

May you find renewed hope and faith in the issues and stresses of life, knowing that your Father in heaven is avidly watching and working despite the delays.

As Saint Paul wrote to his son in the faith, Timothy!

“for I know whom I have believed, and I am convinced that he is able to guard until that Day what has been entrusted to me. 13 Follow the pattern of the sound words that you have heard from me, in the faith and love that are in Christ Jesus. 14 By the Holy Spirit who dwells within us, guard the good deposit entrusted to you.” (2 Timothy 1:12-14 ESV)- Source BibleGateway.com 

Peace and Grace,

Pastor B.

Leave a Reply

