Inadequate :

Alexis - Maine '15

Today was hard. I feel completely self centered to even admit it, that nothing bad happened, but today was so difficult. I am sure guys have a version of “this” day, but the girl version.. or “Alexis” version went like this:

I spent the first 30 minutes of my day icing my face, because I woke up with throbbing cheeks. When I get stressed, I get the worst acne.  I felt beyond ugly, repulsive, really. Through out the day I couldn’t help but remember what I looked like and how makeup didn’t stand a chance against these guys… its bad.  But this mindset, this feeling of inadequacy started to seep into everything.. I feel fat, I’m way too short, maybe I can’t even sing and people have just been telling me this for years because its all I’ve got…?  Lets not even get started with the pressures of social media and perfection….

View original post 378 more words

Leave a Reply

