A Different Kind of Parenting…

We all know the truth of our mortality…but we avoid thinking about it. Life and it’s demands allow us the luxury of throwing ourselves and our full consciousness into each day so completely that we delay having the discussion… with each other… with ourselves.

How long do we have left? 

A few days ago I caught the last five minutes of the Dr. Phil show… he put a huge paper measuring stick on the floor of his studio stage and invited members of the audience to come up and stand on their number. Placed by age on a mega-ruler with measurements of each decade noted, it was sobering how little was left on the stick for some. The numbers went from 0 to 85 and the simple reality check of seeing where you were in the journey of life was illuminating for me. dr phil

At 46… I would be standing slightly past half way through the measuring stick. Meaning, I had fewer years ahead of me than behind. My life timeline was / is running down. (Assuming I would live to an average age of 78-80) It gave me a renewed perspective on my time and energy, where I invest my focus and fullest efforts.

Parenting can become all about the here and now of life. So focused on establishing proper boundaries and maintaining consistent discipline, that we forget the bigger picture. 

Don’t we all ultimately want to help our kids to develop a life-long hunger and persistent pursuit of Christ ? To share with them about the irreplaceable wisdom that comes from depending on God’s word for life decisions, of the strength a local Christian community of faith offers in the storms of life. We want them to go farther and higher than we did… secure in the knowledge their life has a divine purpose far beyond their own wants and desires.

YES of course. 

Parenting is about the transfer of our hope. The guarding of a good deposit. St. Paul although unmarried had a son of the faith (Timothy) and this is the advice he shared with his son in his very last days of life…

2 Timothy 1:  “But I am not ashamed, for I know whom I have believed, and I am convinced that he is able to guard until that Day what has been entrusted to me.13 Follow the pattern of the sound words that you have heard from me, in the faith and love that are in Christ Jesus. 14 By the Holy Spirit who dwells within us, guard the good deposit entrusted to you.” (ESV) Source – Biblegateway.com 

As we age… as we grow in our perspective of life and the briefness of its gift to us, may we all use the time we have wisely. Investing in our most important relationships as if nothing else mattered…

agingface

source – lovethatface.com

May Gods strength and wisdom fill you and guide you on this sacred task.

Fr. Brad

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

